When it comes to checking your license status and driving history, you need to request a driving record from the Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) Driver License Division. Find out about the history of convictions, violations, and collisions in the last three years. Also, you can check if your license is revoked or suspended.
Available Methods: In-Person, by phone or mail.
The application form is not available online at the Alabama government website. This means you can’t check your Alabama driver license status online.
- Go to the nearest Alabama Department of Revenue office.
- The Form that you need to complete – MV DPPA1. Keep in mind that you need to pay a certain fee.
- To request a driving record in person, you can find the adequate forms at the Alabama Reinstatement office. Follow the instructions carefully.
Contact the Driver License Records on 334-242-4241 and gather all the necessary information.
- Fill in: your name, license number, date of birth, and social security number.
- You must include a certified check or money order for the fee. The form that you need to complete you can find here.
- Send an email with the necessary data below and attach the form and payment to the:
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency
Driver License Division
P.O. Box 1471
Montgomery, AL 36102-1472
It is necessary to pay a fee for the information on your current license status and driving history.
- $5.75 for a request
- $5.75 for a new request, if you give the incorrect information, or the service is not able to locate the record
Methods of paying: a cashier’s and certificated check, or money order. Personal checks will not be accepted.
The period of waiting: 7-10 days.
Types of suspensions
It is necessary to understand Alabama’s traffic point system when you want to request a copy of your driving record. In that way, you will know when your license can be suspended.
Every traffic offense that you are convicted of, will be followed with some points.
The following schedule is used to determine the length of a suspension period for any Alabama license holder:
- 12-14 points in a 2-year period – 60 days
- 15-17 points in a 2-year period – 90 days
- 18-20 points in a 2-year period – 120 days
- 21-23 points in a 2-year period – 180 days
- 24 and above points in a 2-year period – 365 days
Other types of suspensions:
- Driving with a suspended license/or no license. The length of the suspension will increase and you can be in prison for 5 years.
- Driving without insurance. All vehicles in Alabama must be insured. If your car is not insured your license will be suspended.
- Driving-related violations. License can be suspended for: reckless driving, fault in a fatal accident, or if abandon your vehicle on a public highway.
- The Safety Responsibility Act, which is enforced in Alabama, requires you to file Form SR-13 within 30 days of being involved in an accident. If you fail to do this and if you are responsible for the accident, your license can be suspended.
- Physical or Psychological Disqualification. A license can be suspended if the person is physically or psychologically unable to drive safely.
- Non-Driving Reasons for License Suspension. These include: not responding to a Motor Vehicle Commission notice or not appearing in court; failing to pay traffic tickets, fines, or surcharges; and not paying child support.